Author Topic: HEADACHE Transistor Siren Circuit  (Read 2872 times)

AutoElecHack

HEADACHE Transistor Siren Circuit
« on: January 04, 2014, 12:18:12 AM »
Hello,

I'm new here and this is my first post.

My name is Daniel and I'm an Automotive Electrical apprentice and a starting to delve into the smaller electronics such as circuitry, etc.

I have recently purchased a Jaycar Project book with small component kit to put all the projects together and am stuck on a few oscilating circuits atm.

Whether it's the alternating flashing leds, random dice or the siren circuit. The circuit will not oscillate properly.

I did manage to get the alternating flashing leds to run properly by swapping out a resistor for a potentiometer and tuning it down in resistance so they would flashing equally and slow enough.

But I am really getting sick and tired of these circuits not performing how they should, straight off the bat.

I am checking and rechecking my circuits and they are all wired correctly.

So I have just put the below circuit together and all I am getting is a constant tone from the speaker. That is it.

These are the first experiences I have had with transistors and I have always found them the most difficult part of electrical.

The main reason for me is that there are so man different explanations for them that it's hard to keep a solid theory in my head. I don't even bother with my trade teachers as my boss has probably forgotten more than they know and even my boss gets lost in his bullsh**.

If anyone here could help me out that would be great. I hate NOT knowing why something is performing the way it is.

I plan on getting through this project book and then once I have a good solid understanding, moving onto my arduino uno kit that I have sitting here.

:)

SeanB

• Administrator
Re: HEADACHE Transistor Siren Circuit
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 02:48:18 AM »
That is correct for that circuit, it only makes a tone.

Strada916