Author Topic: Doorbells in parallel  (Read 2188 times)

kamchow

Doorbells in parallel
« on: December 09, 2016, 12:01:48 PM »
(1) a big sorry to MJL. i emailed you with this problem. please please please ignore the email. i did not read the clear instructions on your contact page and wasted your time with my email. again, apologies.

ok, forum people, could one of you come to my rescue? yes, i'm a complete noob and need spoonfeeding!  :D

i have 2 doorbells. the doorbell pushbutton is connected to one doorbell in the normal way. the other doorbell is connected to the first doorbell via the same terminals that the pushbutton is connected to. the pushbutton operates both doorbells.

afaik, this is a parallel circuit and it works. press pushbutton and both doorbells chime.

here is the problem: first doorbell runs off a 9v battery and the second one runs off a 6v battery (4 x 1.5v).

when the pushbutton is pressed, for that split second the circuit is closed, does the 9v battery "flow" into the 6v battery?

even when the circuit is open (pushbutton not pressed), is anything happening in the circuit - between the doorbells?

i do not have any measuring instruments like a multimeter.
also, since these are cheap doorbells, i do not know the resistance of the doorbells.

another thing, say in the future i bought a multimeter, how would i go about measuring voltages and power consumption etc across various points in the circuit? it would be great if someone could post a video showing how to do this.

ok, over to you boffins to help me out. i thank you in advance.

ProBang2

• Really! My screwdriver should be more sonic...
Re: Doorbells in parallel
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2016, 10:20:18 PM »

The status "Pushbutton pressed" is not the problem. It is simply closing the circuit of each battery.

Connecting both plus and minus poles in parallel together has the following effect: