Author Topic: best way to wire inverter?  (Read 6239 times)

n0ferz

best way to wire inverter?
« on: April 28, 2014, 05:18:16 PM »
Hey all,

I am new to solar energy and would like to know what is the best way to wire the inverter. I mean should I wire it directly to the LOAD terminals in the Charge Controller or can I just wire it directly from the battery?

I have read that you can't wire it directly to the charge controller since the LOAD inputs are for small loads but I wonder if I wire it directly from the battery when the battery charge % decreases above 50% will the charge controller shut down everything to prevent damaging the battery?

Thanks and regards from Dominican Republic!

MJLorton

• Administrator
Re: best way to wire inverter?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2014, 02:29:04 PM »
Can you post some details about the inverter or post a picture?

Cheers,
Martin.
Play, discover, learn and enjoy! (and don't be scared to make mistakes along the way!)

n0ferz

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2014, 02:44:28 PM »
Sure, this is the inverter. We had it wired directly from the CC and now it is wired straight from the battery.

http://www.amazon.com/Cobra-400-Watt-12-Volt-120-Volt-Inverter/dp/B001RNOHBC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1398883348&sr=8-1&keywords=cobra+inverter

We are powering a couple WiFi Radio Antennas and the current draw is very small. We have a 100w renogy panel with a 105amps battery!

n0ferz

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2014, 09:00:06 AM »
What I basically want to know is if the Charger Controller will be damaged if I connect the inverter directly from the LOAD outputs?

AND

If I connect the inverter directly from the battery with clamps, will the Charge Controller shutdown in case the battery drops to a low voltage to prevent damage to the battery??

Thanks

MJLorton

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2014, 11:59:32 AM »