Author Topic: Question about measuring Amps on UNI-T UT61E  (Read 6772 times)

clintonelston

Question about measuring Amps on UNI-T UT61E
« on: December 30, 2012, 02:46:37 AM »
Hi All

Total newbie question, why am I only able to get amp readings with my Uni-T UT61E meter if I have the cable plugged into the 10A Max, and not the mAuA. Surely the load is tiny (0.005mA) or (0.022mA) with a fresh battery?

Very small setup of a 9V battery powering a 4W LED bulb?

Picture attached.

TIA/Dankie
Clinton

retiredcaps

Re: Question about measuring Amps on UNI-T UT61E
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2012, 03:20:17 AM »
While I don't have an UT61E, almost all multimeters work in the same way.

The normal "convention" is to put your black probe in the COM and leave it there.  Red goes into V/Ohms, mA/uA, A as needed.

If you want to measure mA/uA, put your red probe in the mA/uA jack.  Switch the rotary dial to either uA or mA.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2012, 03:22:12 AM by retiredcaps »

retiredcaps

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2012, 03:21:30 AM »
If you are doing everything right and you still don't get a reading, check the lower Amp fuse.  You could have blown it easily by leaving the red probe in the mA/uA jack and then switching the rotary dial to DC or ACV to measure voltage.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2012, 03:23:44 AM by retiredcaps »

clintonelston

« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2012, 04:21:37 AM »
Many thanks for the advice, I think yes you're right and its a fuse, Ive removed it and tested and yes its dead. I see its a ceramic type fuse, would a glass fuse be suitable to replace?

Thanks for the advice on the leads, i had them crossed over for polarity (I didn't want to change on the breadboard)

retiredcaps

« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2012, 04:35:42 AM »
I see its a ceramic type fuse, would a glass fuse be suitable to replace?
Almost every multimeter says to replace the bad fuse with an identical (in every respect) good one.