Author Topic: Using batteries to lower the load peaks without solar/wind energy?  (Read 4504 times)

Delly

Hi Martin

I'm currently a university student working on a research project for company. The purpose of the project is to find a way to help reduce the load peaks or averaging the load throughout the day in winter seasons. Since where I live is very north in this universe (Norway) there is a lot of snow.  Now I don't have much experience or knowledge compared to others about PV, but from what I've read and gathered there is almost no point in installing these here. The electricity price here varies a lot from day to night in winter. Generally more load = higher electricity price.

Since solar energy is kind of useless (not sure how wind turbines work in snowy weather) the idea that I've been given to research is to store the energy during low load, mostly during the night, through the main grid and then use the stored energy to push down the load peaks during the day. I've hoped that one of your videos could explain how this could be done, but so far I haven't seen any.

My idea so far is like this:
main grid -> inverter -> *(solar/wind ->) charge controller -> batteries -> inverter (same or new, not sure what's best/possible yet) -> main grid.

* The government is planning to install AMS (advanced measuring instrument) in all the houses before 2020 and they are considering the "sell back" option as well. Therefor there should be the possibility to install solar panels and or wind turbines for those who wish to do so, even though it is quite rare here.

Does this sound reasonable, and are there smarter ways to do this?

Thanks in advance!

SeanB

• Administrator
Re: Using batteries to lower the load peaks without solar/wind energy?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2013, 12:18:21 PM »