Author Topic: Digital multimeter with induction measurement.  (Read 3586 times)

angelico

Digital multimeter with induction measurement.
« on: May 18, 2012, 08:21:00 PM »
Hello Martin,
I am a builder of amateur antennas for medium wave and shortwave.
In the construction of the antennas I need to measure inductances and capacitances. I use a simple multimeter (Minipa ET-2082C).
I wish you would publish a review of a multimeter capable of measuring inductance, especially for amateur radio.

Sorry for my English ... Google translator half bad.

FOX

Re: Digital multimeter with induction measurement.
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 02:23:10 PM »
Multimeter with induction measurement capability are rather rare, i don't know any at least from the major brands.
In my opinion your are better off with an separate LCR-meter (even a cheap one), especially with low value capacitors (<10nF) and inductors.

I assume you want to use the meter for measuring  the components off your matching circuits, because for measuring your antenna directly a Networkanalyzer would be the right type off gear, but not in the budget of the most hobbyist i am afraid.
A closed Switch should have 0 Ohm or less

MJLorton

• Administrator
Re: Digital multimeter with induction measurement.
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2012, 03:22:46 AM »
Hello Martin,
I am a builder of amateur antennas for medium wave and shortwave.
In the construction of the antennas I need to measure inductances and capacitances. I use a simple multimeter (Minipa ET-2082C).
I wish you would publish a review of a multimeter capable of measuring inductance, especially for amateur radio.

Sorry for my English ... Google translator half bad.
Thanks for the post....no problem understanding. I think Fox has mad an excellent suggestion....what I will make time for is a review of an LCR-meter. Thanks for the idea as I'm sure it will help many other folks as well.

Cheers,
Martin.