Author Topic: Howto: Precision voltage measurement with an ADC & uC ??  (Read 8321 times)

Zhang

Howto: Precision voltage measurement with an ADC & uC ??
« on: May 20, 2014, 01:32:48 PM »
Hi there,

I'm stuck with my little project. I want to measure voltage in a range from 0 to 30 volts as accurately as possible. My plan, a voltage divider to 5 volts and then into a 12-bit ADC. I have read a little about the resolution of ADCs but I'm not sure whether a 12-bit ADC has a resolution of 0.01 volts. I think I need a 16-bit ADCs for this resolution.

Next point is the accuracy of the resistors. How exactly the precision need to be

I would appreciate if you could give me some tips. Maybe there is another solution to measure Voltage.

Please do not bash, I'm still a beginner ....  :-\

Regards

Zhang

Rick Law

Re: Howto: Precision voltage measurement with an ADC & uC ??
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 11:20:30 PM »
Hi there,

I'm stuck with my little project. I want to measure voltage in a range from 0 to 30 volts as accurately as possible. My plan, a voltage divider to 5 volts and then into a 12-bit ADC. I have read a little about the resolution of ADCs but I'm not sure whether a 12-bit ADC has a resolution of 0.01 volts. I think I need a 16-bit ADCs for this resolution.

Next point is the accuracy of the resistors. How exactly the precision need to be

I would appreciate if you could give me some tips. Maybe there is another solution to measure Voltage.

Please do not bash, I'm still a beginner ....  :-\

Regards

Zhang

Running a 12bit ADC at 5 volt will give you 5/(2^12) = 5/4096=0.001221
So, you have 0.001221 volt resolution, not 0.01V.

Typical good resistors are 1%, or .1%, but you can get some 10x better costing 100x more.  Precision costs money.  So, what is the precision you require?

Simplest way without extensive algebra, when you do voltage divide, V=R1/(R1+R2), do the eval with these in a spreadsheet:
1: use R1+1% and R2+1%
2: use R1-1% and R2+1%