Author Topic: Temperature Controller  (Read 14484 times)

Mr Eastwood

Temperature Controller
« on: August 13, 2012, 05:31:02 PM »
This is something I've been working on for the last 2 years in my spare time.  It's a ramp/hold temperature controller,  it controls temperatures up to 1300'c based on temperature profiles which are created in XML then sent to the controller via rs232, the unit has a internal logging facility to store each successful run operation; then you can pull the logs from memory to the PC to be displayed as a graph. It has a COM mode that allows you to send commands from the PC to it. This pic doesn't show the rs232 module board.

It's taken a long time to create as it's my first real project and everything I've learned I've had to pick up on the way.  I've really got hooked on electronics now and I'm keen to get this finished so I can get started on the next version.

« Last Edit: August 15, 2012, 12:18:34 PM by jucole »
Hey! Frisbee! Far out!

MJLorton

• Administrator
Re: Temperature Controller
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2012, 06:05:52 AM »
Brilliant, hats off to you and thanks for posting.

Cheers,
Martin.
Play, discover, learn and enjoy! (and don't be scared to make mistakes along the way!)

Mr Eastwood

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2013, 07:51:07 AM »
Just a small update; after doing the top board I wanted something to fit into a project box, so I created a smaller 2 board version.

Here's a small time-lapse clip build showing the part construction of the main board.
http://youtu.be/NKsXdEf8vio

Since that version - I decided to try and do a PCB layout; which is done and almost ready to be sent off to be made into PCBs.

Hey! Frisbee! Far out!

blankfield

« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2013, 03:49:36 PM »
Really nice project, are you using bluetooth for rs232 communication? And what is the purpose of the xml format? Xml is a little to redundant format of data like for MCU's.
From 0 to 1, from VEE to VCC.

Mr Eastwood