Author Topic: I fried my multimeter in the socket  (Read 4720 times)

Polesch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
I fried my multimeter in the socket
« on: February 03, 2014, 03:45:07 PM »
So I bought this Victor VC97 Multimeter (http://youtu.be/7H-4qLhWuu0), I measured the voltage of the socket with it to 230.13V (Northern Europe), and then just to test the frequency measurement on it I changed the setting and inserted the two probes in the socket - heard a scratching noise, like short fast-burning pyrotehnic fuse - and it was dead. I'm just a curious guy that know very little about electricity in general, and this was unexpected for me even after reading the manual (which is here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15526481/docs/601e-0097-000a.pdf). Based on those specifications, did I do something wrong here?

(I know the probes and the mode was set correctly).

SeanB

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 941
Re: I fried my multimeter in the socket
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2014, 11:08:09 PM »
Mains peak voltage in your case is 325V, and the max input voltage is 250v for frequency. This is an absolute max, so you were 75V over this.

Polesch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: I fried my multimeter in the socket
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2014, 01:00:20 AM »
I see, thank you.

retiredcaps

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: I fried my multimeter in the socket
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2014, 01:39:42 AM »
and it was dead.
Does it turn on with readings on the lcd?

Polesch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: I fried my multimeter in the socket
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2014, 04:19:25 AM »
and it was dead.
Does it turn on with readings on the lcd?

No, nothing happens on any setting/mode. I'll take it apart later today (won't bother about the warranty as it's my fault), I'll see if I can find something and take a picture.

retiredcaps

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: I fried my multimeter in the socket
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2014, 03:30:52 PM »
I'll take it apart later today (won't bother about the warranty as it's my fault), I'll see if I can find something and take a picture.
Yes, please post some clear focus photos and I'll see if I can help you possibly fix it.  The schematic is available as I mentioned in this thread

http://mjlorton.com/forum/index.php?topic=349.0

MJLorton

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
Re: I fried my multimeter in the socket
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2014, 03:49:17 PM »
Polesch, thanks very much for your post...even if it is your fault we can all learn from it...also...always good to see what happens inside a meter when something like this happens.

Cheers,
Martin.
Play, discover, learn and enjoy! (and don't be scared to make mistakes along the way!)